Style / Fashion – Here Comes the Brides(maid) Inspiration Week

My good friend Amy is getting married in Maine this September and I’m as pleased as punch to be one of her bridesmaids!  Yesterday, I traveled down to David’s Bridal to order my dress, this lovely number in petal

Bridesmaids Dress

 

{Photo Credit – David’s Bridal}

The detail is a little hard to see in  this picture, so you should check it out on the David’s site in a darker shade.  Fabulous, no?

I’m a little nervous about the dress fitting me – most are made for the classic, concave hourglass figure … and I’m more of a convex, apple shape.  According to the measurements, I’m 1″ smaller than the bust, 2″ smaller than the hips … but 2″ too big in the waist.  David’s doesn’t sell extra fabric, so I chose this dress precisely because I’m going to need to have it hemmed to knee length.  All that extra fabric can be used for any alterations so that the dress can fit.

That extra fabric will also come in handy – I plan to use some of it to some sort of sleeve so I don’t feel nekkid! (Seriously, why are so many wedding and bridesmaids dresses strapless?!?)  Here are some of my inspirations for modifying a sleeveless gown:

Sleeve Options

{Photo Credit – Left – Pinterest, Center – Southern Weddings, Right – Alibaba}

Now that the dress is ordered (no returns!), what about the SHOES?  Turns out, there are quite a few options .. and I’m not sure what to get!

Shoes - Sandals

 

{Sandals: 1 – Mark Kemp Leash, 2 – J. Renee Whirly , 3 – David Tate Beverly , 4 – Colorful Creations Minnie, 5 – David Tate Rosette}

Shoes - Peep Toes

{Peep toes: 1 – J. Renee Classie, 2 – David Tate Prom, 3 – J. Renee Chrissy, 4 – J. Renee Slader, 5 – Colorful Creations – Debra, 6 – Ross Hommerson Bolo}

Shoes - Closed Toes

 

{Closed Toes & Slingbacks: 1 – Barefoot Tess Brea, 2 – J. Renee Bev, 3 – Ros Hommerson Valeda, 4 – Ros Hommerson Kaitlin}

What to do ,what to do?  Some of these will be easier to work into my wardrobe than others … but these are also the same shoes that I’m less sure about being able to rock with the dress.  Then, of course, is the question of fit and comfort.  I think I’m gonna order ….. the J. Renee Whirly Sandal, the J. Renee Classie Peep Toe, the Ros Hommerson Bolo Peep Toe, and the Ross Hommerson Kaitlin Slingback.  With free return shipping at Zappos and Shoe Buy, I can try them on, see what’s comfortable and what matches well with the fabric, and send back the ones that don’t work!

 

Leave a comment